Super Eagles team list to face Tanzania

Gernot Rohr has decided to start Chelsea midfielder, Mikel Obi as he will lead a strong  starting XI that also has Kelechi Iheanacho, Victor Moses, Ahmed Musa and Odion Ighalo as Nigeria will be looking to win against Tanzania today.

This afternoon’s AFCON qualifier in Uyo is inconsequential  but it will help Coach Gernot Rohr to ascertain the fitness of his players as he prepares  for next month’s World Cup qualifier in Zambia.

Musa Mohammed will make his official Super Eagles debut after he played in two friendlies for the team against Mali and Luxembourg in May,he will play in Right back for the team.

Rio Olympics star William Troost-Ekong will try to build an understanding in the middle of the defence with Germany-based Leon Balogun.

Kano Pillars central defender Jamiu Alimi and FC IfeanyiUbah goalkeeper Ikechukwu Ezenwa are the only players from the domestic league on the match day squad and they will both start from the bench.

The full team list against Tanzania;

Carl Ikeme – Musa Mohammed, Elderson Echiejile, William Troost-Ekong, Leon Balogun – Ogenyi Onazi, Mikel Obi (Skipper), Kelechi Iheanacho, Victor Moses – Odion Ighalo, Ahmed Musa

Subs: Nosa Igiebor,Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Jamiu Alimi, Shehu Abdullahi, Wilfred Ndidi, Brown Ideye, Moses Simon



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s