Niger Tornadoes new boys ready for the NPFL season

Kogi United captain Abiodun Afolabi and central defender James Iko have completed their transfer to Nigeria Professional Football League, NPFL side, Niger Tornadoes ahead of the new season.

Both players joined Tornadoes after the transfer was completed in December.

Afolabi who is a highly-rated right-back in the second tier, the Nigeria National League (NNL), would bring his experience to support Tornadoes’ aim of surpassing their last season’s achievement when they finished 11th in their return to the top flight.

The full back from Kwara State expressed delight at completing the move which he described as a step up in his career.

Afolabi said, “I’m still in joyous mood and happy that I will play for Tornadoes next season,”It’s one of the best organized clubs in NPFL and the opportunity given to young footballers really lured me here.”

“I’m impressed with what I’ve seen so far in terms of quality and dedication of the players and I can’t wait to start playing competitive games with my teammates and working under a father figure coach (Abubakar Bala). I’m optimistic this season will be better than last season for Tornadoes.”

Afolabi looked back at his stay at Kogi United and declared: “I had an excellent five seasons with Kogi United, it’s a great club with good organization and I will always have them at heart for the great support to my career.”

James, Kogi United’s second vice captain, who also joined the Minna club, has described his transfer as a reward for dedication, self-confidence and focus. He looks forward to helping Tornadoes achieve greatness in the coming NPFL season.

“It’s a good thing for me and my career to join Tornadoes. I’m excited about the prospect of playing in the apex league in Nigeria and I’m waiting patiently for the league to start so that I can grab my chance.”

“This is a result of my focus, dedication and the belief I have had in myself to push on, even when I’ve been written off. I will prove myself again by helping Tornadoes improve on their last season’s performance,” he said.

Niger Tornadoes will start the new NPFL season with a trip to Lagos where they will face MFM FC on January 15.

Leave a Reply

